Back to the Phuture Radio, New York Electro special with Arthur Baker

Electronic music expert Mark Jones goes BACK TO THE PHUTURE, joining the dots between synthesised music past and present

Tuesday 21 September 2010

Electronic music enthusiast and record label MD Mark Jones will host a very special edition of his inspired radio series ‘Back To The Phuture’, which explores synthesised music past and present, and connects the dots between them.

Listen to it here!

A Bank Holiday special to be aired on Monday 30th August on BBC 6Music, Mark looks at the explosion of electronic music in New York during the Eighties, playing tracks by Afrika Bambaataa, Hashim and Shannon alongside contemporary NYC tunes by Holy Ghost! and LCD Soundsystem.

Arthur Baker, Planet Rock 12\"

In the second hour of the show, Mark is joined by Arthur Baker, producer and pivotal figure in the NYC electro scene, to discuss his musical influences. Best known in the UK for his work with New Order, Arthur was a club DJ in Boston before moving to New York in 1981 and becoming involved in the music scene there. He went on to produce Afrika Bambaataa’s seminal tune Planet Rock, have a No. 1 single with Rockers Revenge, ‘Walking On Sunshine’, and reinvigorate the career of British jazz-funk band Freeez with his production on their worldwide hit ‘IOU’. Arthur tells Mark about life in New York during that time and plays the music that inspired his production work, including tracks by The Undisputed Truth, Kraftwerk and David Bowie.

In the final hour, there’s a guest mix from up-and-coming New York-based artist Penguin Prison, whose debut album, fusing electronic production with pop melodies, is due out at the end of the year.

The tracklisting is as follows:

Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime, LCD Soundystem – I Can Change, Afrika Baambaata & The Soul Sonic Force – Planet Rock, Peech Boys – Don’t Make Me Wait, Hashim – Al Naayfish (The Soul), !!! – Most Certain Sure, George Kranz – Din Daa Daa, Blondie – Call Me, Shannon – Let The Music Play, Penguin Prison – The Worst It Gets, Man Parrish – Hip Hop Bee Bop, Holy Ghost – Say My Name, Freeez – IOU, Rockers Revenge – Walking On Sunshine, The Undisputed Truth – You + Me = Love, Tonto’s Expanding Headband – Jet Sex, David Bowie – Rebel Rebel, T Rex – Get It On, Kraftwerk – Autobahn, Crystal World – Crystal Glass, Klein and MBO – Dirty Talk, Yazoo – Don’t Go, Hurts – Wonderful Life (Arthur Baker remix), Penguin Prison Back To The Phuture Mix, Penguin Prison – Something I’m Not (Luxury Living Mix), Chicken Lips – You’re Not Ready Yet, Newcleus – Jam On It, Cosmic Boogie – Talk To Me (Cosmic Boogie Edit), Holy Ghost! – On Board (Friendly Fires Cover), LCD Soundsystem – One Touch, Voltage – All Night, Faithless – Feel Me (Penguin Pridon Mix), LCD Soundsystem – Drunk Girls (Holy Ghost! Mix), Chromeo – Needy Girl (Lifelike Remix), Penguin Prison – A Funny Thing

Listen to it here!

Back to the Phuture Live at the Troxy, London, 02.04.2011

Back to the Phuture Radio

Next transmission May 2011, Date & times coming soon